Product logo

What is Rotstop C?

Rotstop C is a stump treatment used to prevent the introduction and spread of Heterobasidion Root Disease (HRD) in conifer plantations. A biological fungicide, Rotstop C contains spores of the naturally occurring wood decay fungus Phlebiopsis gigantea, which grows into the stump and prevents HRD from becoming established.

How Rotstop C Works

Rotstop C is a wettable powder that is applied as an aqueous mixture. Blue dye is added to the mixture to better observe treatment coverage. P. gigantea grows into the stump and penetrates deep into the infected root system, naturally out-competing H. irregulare and preventing it from becoming established or spreading. Rotstop C was developed for use with automated/mechanized harvesters or with manual spray systems and will provide the most effective protection when applied at the time of felling or soon after.

Related Pest & Pathogens

Labels image
Rotstop C

The product label contains directions and application rates.

DOWNLOAD
Sds image
Rotstop C

This Safety Data Sheet contains occupational safety and health data for this product.

DOWNLOAD

Rotstop C is a stump treatment used to protect freshly cut stumps from Heterobasidion (also known as Fomes or Annosum) Root Disease (HRD). Rotstop C is a biological fungicide that contains spores of the naturally occurring wood decay fungus, Phlebiopsis gigantea. Rotstop C is a wettable powder that is applied as an aqueous mixture.

Rostop C is registered by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA Registration Number: 64137-12) in the following states: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Michigan, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and Wisconsin.

Rotstop C is registered in Canada by the Pest Management Regulatory Agency (PMRA) (registration NO. 31140).

Rotstop formulations have been proven to be very effective in protecting conifer plantations from HRD in Europe for over 30 years. Numerous field studies in Europe and North America and years of operational application have demonstrated very high efficacy (in some studies up to 90% effectiveness) of Phlebiopsis gigantea in preventing HRD.

Benefits of using Rotstop C include:

  • Incorporating Rotstop C into conifer plantation management can maximize productivity by preventing tree growth loss and mortality and provides assurance that conifer assets are protected from HRD.
  • According to peer-reviewed research, Phlebiopsis gigantea poses no risk to living trees or agricultural crops, making Rotstop C an ideal treatment option to help sustain forests for future generations.
  • Peer-reviewed research also confirms that Phlebiopsis gigantea naturally decomposes dead wood, aiding in the decay of freshly cut stumps. Other treatment options, such as borate products, act as a wood preservative, increasing the time it takes for a stump to naturally decompose.
  • Rotstop C is a low-cost control option, comparable to other stump treatments available

The following package sizes are available in the US:

  • 0.13oz package yields 1 US gallon
  • 0.67oz package yields 5 US gallons

The following package sizes are available in Canada:

  • 20 x 5 g wettable powder packages
  • 10 x 5 g wettable powder packages

Rotstop C is distributed by BioForest. Orders can be placed by contacting the Order Desk at order@bioforest.ca or by phone at 1-888-236-7378.

Vigorous agitation is not needed. Rotstop C comes in pre-measured packages that, after being mixed with a small amount of water to form a slurry, are poured into volumes of water. Gentle mixing is sufficient to disperse the Phlebiopsis gigantea spores in the water. Refer to the product label for the Directions for Use.

Dye can be added to the mixture to observe treatment coverage. Blue dye can be purchased from BioForest.

During cold times of the year, if the temperature is expected to rise above 40°F (4°C) anytime during the two weeks after felling, Rotstop C should be applied if possible. Because Rotstop C is mixed with water, applying it in very cold weather may not be possible because the product might freeze in the lines of the spray system. However, under these conditions, adding propylene glycol (not ethylene glycol) to the mixture (up to 10%, e.g. 13 fluid oz. [500 mL] propylene glycol in 1 gallon [5 litres] of mix) can prevent freezing to 27°F (-3°C) without reducing the efficacy of Rotstop C, if used the same day.

It is recommended to apply Rotstop C immediately after felling to ensure Heterobasidion spores cannot infect freshly cut stumps.

Unopened packages can be stored up o 12 months in a cool (below 46°F/8°C), dry place and up to 18 months when frozen (0°F/-18°C). Packages taken from cool conditions and thawed to room temperature must be used within one month. Rotstop C contains living fungal spores and should not be exposed to temperatures above 100°F (38°C) in order to ensure maximum efficacy. Use open packages within 24 hours.

Product logo
J'aimerais plus d'informations

Qu’est-ce que le Rotstop C?

Le Rotstop C est un traitement de souche qui sert à prévenir l’introduction et la propagation de la maladie du rond dans les plantations de conifères. Un fongicide biologique, le Rotstop C contient des spores du champignon naturel de la pourriture du bois Phlebiopsis gigantea, qui se développe dans la souche et empêche la maladie du rond de s’établir.

Mode d’action

Le Rotstop C est une poudre mouillable appliquée sous forme de mélange aqueux. Un colorant bleu est ajouté au mélange pour mieux observer la couverture égale du traitement. Le P. gigantea inocule la souche et pénètre profondément dans le système racinaire infecté, devançant naturellement l’H. irregulare et l’empêchant de s’établir ou de se propager. Le Rotstop C a été mis au point pour des abatteuses automatisées/mécanisées ou avec des systèmes de pulvérisation manuels, et fournit la protection la plus efficace lorsqu’il est appliqué au moment de l’abattage ou peu après.

Ravageurs et pathogènes apparentés

Étiquette Labels
Étiquette

L’étiquette du produit comporte le mode d’emploi et la fiche de dosage.

Télécharger le fichier
FDS Sds
FDS

La fiche de données de sécurité comporte les données relatives à la sécurité et à la santé au travail pour ce produit.

Télécharger le fichier

Le Rotstop C est un traitement de souches qui sert à protéger les souches fraîchement coupées contre la maladie du rond (également connue sous le nom de Fomes ou Annosum). Le Rotstop C est un fongicide biologique qui contient des spores du champignon naturel de la pourriture du bois, Phlebiopsis gigantea. Le Rotstop C est une poudre mouillable appliquée sous forme de mélange aqueux.

Le Rostop C est homologué par l’Environmental Protection Agency (numéro d’homologation EPA 64137-12) dans les États suivants : Alabama, Floride, Géorgie, Michigan, Caroline du nord, Caroline du sud, Virginie et Wisconsin.

Le Rotstop C est homologué au Canada par l’Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire (ARLA) (no d’homologation 31140).

Les formulations de Rotstop C se sont avérées très efficaces pour protéger les plantations de conifères de la maladie du rond en Europe depuis plus de 30 ans. De nombreuses études en Europe et en Amérique du Nord ainsi que des années d’application opérationnelle ont démontré la très grande efficacité (jusqu’à 90 % dans certaines études) de Phlebiopsis gigantea pour la prévention de la maladie du rond.

Les avantages de l’utilisation du Rotstop C comprennent, entre autres :

  • L’intégration du Rotstop C dans la gestion des plantations de conifères peut maximiser la productivité en empêchant la perte de croissance et la mortalité des arbres et garantit que les conifères sont protégés contre la maladie du rond.
  • Selon des recherches, Phlebiopsis gigantea ne présente aucun risque pour les arbres vivants ou les cultures agricoles, ce qui fait du Rotstop C un choix de traitement idéal pour aider à préserver les forêts pour les générations futures.
  • Des recherches confirment également que le Phlebiopsis gigantea décompose naturellement le bois mort, ce qui contribue à la décomposition des souches fraîchement coupées. D’autres options de traitement, comme les produits à base de borate, servent d’agent de préservation du bois, augmentant ainsi le temps nécessaire à la décomposition naturelle d’une souche.
  • Le Rotstop C est une option peu coûteuse, semblable aux autres traitements de souches disponibles.

Les formats d’emballage suivants sont disponibles au Canada :

  • 10 emballages de poudre mouillable de 5 g (5g donne 5L de solution)

BioForest est le distributeur exclusif du Rotstop C. On peut passer une commande en communiquant avec le service des commandes à commande@bioforest.ca ou par téléphone au 1-888-450-7664.

L’agitation vigoureuse n’est pas nécessaire. Le Rotstop C se présente sous forme d’emballage pré-dosé qui, après avoir été mélangé à une petite quantité d’eau pour former un mélange aqueux, est versé dans un volume d’eau. Mélangez doucement pour disperser les spores de Phlebiopsis gigantea dans l’eau. Consulter l’étiquette pour le mode d’emploi.

On peut ajouter un colorant au mélange pour observer la couverture du traitement. On peut se procurer un colorant bleu auprès de BioForest.

Pendant les périodes froides de l’année, si l’on s’attend à ce que la température dépasse 4 °C (40 °F) n’importe quand durant les deux semaines suivant l’abattage, il faut appliquer du Rotstop C si possible. Comme le Rotstop C est mélangé avec de l’eau, son application par temps très froid risque de ne pas être possible car le produit pourrait geler dans les conduites du système de pulvérisation. Toutefois, dans ces conditions, l’ajout de propylène glycol (et non d’éthylène glycol) au mélange (jusqu’à 10 %, par exemple 500 ml  de propylène glycol dans 5 litres de mélange) peut empêcher le gel à -3 °C (27 °F) sans réduire l’efficacité du Rotstop C, s’il est utilisé le même jour.

Il est recommandé d’appliquer le Rotstop C immédiatement après l’abattage pour empêcher les spores d’Heterobasidion d’infecter les souches fraîchement coupées.

Les emballages intacts peuvent se conserver pendant 12 mois dans un endroit frais (moins de 8 °C/46 °F) et sec, et jusqu’à 18 mois s’ils sont congelés (-18 °C/0 °F). Les emballages retirés du froid et décongelés à température ambiante doivent être utilisés dans un délai d’un mois. Le Rotstop C contient des spores fongiques vivantes et ne doit pas être exposé à des températures supérieures à 38 °C (100 °F) afin de garantir une efficacité maximale. Utilisez les emballages ouverts dans les 24 heures.